Vote, Woman, Vote or Don’t Make Me Come Over There!

Until May 2nd, I’m going to harass the hell out of my two lovely nieces who live in Ottawa and I want you to do the same. OK, so not exactly the same. Get your own nieces.

I want you to identify two young women in your life; two young women who are of voting age and I want you to do everything in your power to get them to vote.

I don’t even care who they vote for.

OK, so we all know that’s a lie.

But what matters is that they vote, that they pay attention, that they participate.

Some of you may accuse me of being one of those ageing feminists who constantly bemoan the lack of engagement and commitment and awareness of young women today. Something like…oh, I don’t know… (fade out on wavy screen)

In my day we didn’t have voting booths. We gave one shoe to the candidate we wanted and we liked it! All walkin’ around with one shoe for the next year, one foot always cold and dirty, wearing out our socks and developing a limp ‘cause we believed in democracy. That’s how it was and we liked it!

That Dana Carvy…so funny. I also miss Church Lady. She would’ve voted Conservative, for sure.

But where was I? Oh yeah, I was in feminist curmudgeon mode…

So be it. Think that if you like. The fact remains that fewer and fewer people- fewer and fewer women- are exercising their right to vote in this country and that leads to bad government, no matter what political stripe you wear.

Imagine if a full 51% of eligible voters cast their ballot on the basis of what mattered to them: childcare, pay equity, affordable housing, education, hunger, violence, same-sex marriage, indigenous rights and yes, abortion, to name but a smattering (and not to say that all women place equal weight on all of these issues). Imagine the message we would send to our leaders.

We would tell them that they ignore women at their political peril.

Whose voice will you encourage this election?

Leave a Reply

